London Rollerski Race #1 - Report & Results

Results - Pictures (from last year's race)

2012's rollerski racing season got off to a fine start last weekend, with over 20 skiers coming along to the Hillingdon Cycle Circuit, in the Minet Country Park, West London.

Skiers came from across the country, with racers from the Midlands, the RAF and legendary 8-times ladies series winner Fiona Crossley, from Yorkshire.

Winner of the mens' 15k race with Alex Bessarab, who recorded the quickest time since 2009 for the race, and an improvement of over 4.5 minutes from his time in the same race last year.

Winner of the ladies' race was Posy Musgrave, a member of the GB Nordic Ski Team, now studying in London, and coaching in Hyde Park. Fern Cates won the Juniors' 7.5k race, improving by 2 minutes from her time last year. Jane Heward of Hyde Park won the Ladies Novice 7.5k race, with the second best 7.5k race time of the day.


Race Results - 13th May - Hillingdon Cycle Circuit
    Time Time  
15km Senior Men 2012 2011  
1 Alex Bessarab 31.51 36.35 London Hyde Park
2 Frank Kelly 31.52   RAF
3 Iain Ballentine 33.01 35.05 London Hyde Park
4 Christopher Richards 37.47   LRNSC
5 Stu Hanna 38.51   RAF
6 Alistair Westell 45.21   London Hyde Park
7 David Vale 1.02.48   London Hyde Park
15km Senior Women      
1 Posy Musgrave 37.41   London Hyde Park / Huntly
2 Fiona Crossley 41.20   Cairngorm BNSC
3 Anne Ford 45.30   Midlands SC
4 Beverley Ridyard 51.03   Midlands SC
5 Amanda Richardson 1.00.52   London Hyde Park
6 Winnie Chang 1.04.01   London Hyde Park
7 Kim Vale 1.10.50   London Hyde Park
8 Penny Caldwell 1.20.44   London Hyde Park
Youth Female 16-18 7.5km      
1 Fern Cates 25.09 27.10 Midlands SC
Youth Male 16-18 7.5km      
1 Jordan Andrews 34.46   Midlands SC
Novice Men 7.5km      
1 David Ford 30.31   Midlands SC
2 John Davies 31.51    
3 Mark Wood 36.01    
Novice Women 7.5km      
1 Jane Heward 26.47   London Hyde Park


The next London 2012 race is the rollerski sprints on 24th June, with the big London race of the year being the 1-hour race on 14th July - see calendar.





Race pictures, 2011

Race calendar

LHPCCSC race entry